About STRONG / Leadership Council

Leadership Council

The STRONG Accountable Care Community Leadership Council is made up of 26 community members from Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia.

The council’s diverse experience and expertise provides insight into our region’s unique strengths, challenges, needs and culture—and guides us toward the best ways to improve our overall health and well-being.

Council members

Our leadership council includes:

Patrick Brunty
Director, Russell County Department of Social Services
Lebanon, Virginia
patrick.brunty@dss.virginia.gov

Claudia Byrd
Director, Speedway Children’s Charities Bristol Chapter
Bristol, Tennessee
claudia@bristolmotorspeedway.com

Dennis Carter, Ed.D.
Superintendent, Smyth County Public Schools
Marion, Virginia
denniscarter@scsb.org

Josh Davis
Senior benefits manager, Eastman Chemical Company
Kingsport, Tennessee
jos.davis@eastman.com

Laura Davis, LCSW, LSATP
Coordinator, Mount Rogers Community Services Board
Wytheville, Virginia
laura.davis@mrcsb.state.va.us

Rebekah English
Regional director, Tennessee Department of Health Northeast Regional Office
Johnson City, Tennessee
rebekah.english@tn.gov

Lori Hamilton, RNC
Director of healthy initiatives, K-VA-T Food Stores Inc (parent company of Food City)
Abingdon, Virginia
hamiltonl@foodcity.com

Kristie Hammonds, BSW, MBA
President and CEO, Frontier Health
Johnson City, Tennessee
khammond@frontierhealth.org

Marty Holliday
Executive director, New River/Mount Rogers Workforce Development Board (WDB)
Radford, Virginia
marty.holliday@nrmrwib.org

Jim Lancaster, M.D.
Medical director, Cigna-HealthSpring
Franklin, Tennessee
james.lancaster@cigna.com

Paula Masters, Ph.D.
Vice President of health programs, Ballad Health
Johnson City, Tennessee
paula.masters@balladhealth.org

Linda Nelms, Ph.D., MPH, CHES
Coordinator for workforce training, Walters State Community College
Morristown, Tennessee
linda.nelms@ws.edu

Erika Phillips, M.Ed.
Coordinated school health director, Hawkins County School District
Rogersville, Tennessee
erika.phillips@hck12.net

Sandy Ratliff
Community impact advisor, Virginia Community Capital
Christiansburg, Virginia
sratliff@vccva.org

Beth Rhinehart
President and CEO, Bristol Chamber of Commerce
Bristol, Tennessee
brhinehart@bristolchamber.org

Karen Schetzina, M.D., MPH, CLC, FAAP
Professor, Department of Pediatrics, East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, Tennessee
schetzin@etsu.edu

Sarah Seely-Dick, D.O.
Pediatrician, Highlands Pediatrics
Abingdon, Virginia
saphire323@gmail.com

Karen Shelton, M.D.
Health director, Mount Rogers Health District, Virginia Department of Public Health
Marion, Virginia
karen.shelton@vdh.virginia.gov

William Shepley, MHA
County administrator, Grayson County
Independence, Virginia
wshepley@graysoncountyva.gov

Joe Smiddy, M.D.
Medical director, The Health Wagon
Wise, Virginia
josephfsmd@aol.com

Travis Staton
President and CEO, United Way of Southwest Virginia
Abingdon, Virginia
tstaton@unitedwayswva.org

Barry Staubus
District attorney, Sullivan County
Blountville, Tennessee
bgrhymer@tndagc.org

Mary Trigiani
Senior vice president strategic planning and development, New Peoples Bank
Honaker, Virginia
marytrigiani@newpeoplesbank.com

Andy True
Assistant superintendent, Kingsport City Schools
Kingpsort, Tennessee
atrue@k12k.com

Kathy Waugh
CEO, YWCA of Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia
Bristol, Tennessee
k_waugh@ywcabristol.org

Kris Westover, Ed.D.
President, Mountain Empire Community College
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
kwestover@mecc.edu

A STRONG start for everyone. Become a partner of the STRONG Accountable Care Community.

Get Involved